The Indian team will face Zimbabwe in the first ODI of the three-match series on Thursday, August 18 at Harare Sports Club. The Indian big names have been rested for the series as a precaution ahead of the upcoming Asian Cup.

India have named a team led by star hitter KL Rahul who will return to the team after recovering from injury. Personalities such as Shikhar Dhawan, Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson were included in the team. In the absence of ace Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj will be the one in charge of leading India’s bowling attack.

Host country Zimbabwe are also very confident after winning the recent ODI and T20I series against Bangladesh. Regis Chakabva was named replacement skipper as Craig Ervine was ruled out through injury. Zimbabwe look comfortable at home and ready for an intense fight against the Men in Blue.

Weather report

The first ODI between India and Zimbabwe will take place at the Harare Sports Club. Partly cloudy weather is expected in Harare on Thursday. The game could be affected by rain as inconsistent showers are expected during the day. The maximum temperature will hover just below 24 degrees Celsius during the game. The wind speed that day will be around 10 km/h.

Presentation report

Harare Sports Club grounds usually help bowlers, especially point guards. The surface has a light grass cover which will provide consistent bounce and carry for bowlers. With cloudy conditions forecast for the day, this could prove to be a fast bowler’s paradise. However, India has scored over 300 points at this venue on several occasions. Batters will get value for their shots and the outfield will also be quite fast.

India (IND) vs West Indies (WI) Possible starting XI:

Possibility to play at 11:

India: KL Rahul (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj

Zimbabwe: Tadiwanashe Marumani, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Innocent Kaia, Wesley Madhevere, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (c&wk), Tony Munyonga, Luke Jongwe, Brad Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Tanaka Chivanga

get latest Cricket News, Program and cricket live scores here